Checking In: Thankful Thoughts Week 5

IMG_20150106_175612

The last few weeks have been filled with nerve pain, rice packs, my heating pad, and cheesy TV shows. I went to my nurse practitioner yesterday and she started me on a steroid and a muscle relaxer to help with the pain. I haven’t had much energy to write, so for now, a short entry will have to do.

IMG_20150109_141826

When I am in pain, I try to focus even more on the goodness in my life. If I don’t spend time doing that, things are much more difficult. So here’s my gratitude list for 2015 thus far:

  • I am grateful for sunshine. Even on the coldest days, I can open my blinds and enjoy the beauty of bright days.
  • I am grateful for rice packs and heating pads. I don’t want to consider how I’d feel without those things.
  • I am grateful for decaf coffee. I can usually drink it, even if I’m a bit shaky. And it brings so much happiness to my day.
  • I am grateful for essential oils, especially OnGuard and Oregano. I am convinced that I would have caught a yucky cold if I hadn’t been vigilant about using them during the holidays.
  • I am grateful that I am home. Yes, I am in pain. And it’s no fun. But I am at home, with my husband, my cats, and heated blankets, not in a hospital. And I cannot take that for granted.

IMG_20150110_180653

No matter what you’re dealing with today, please look for the little blessings in your life. I promise it will give you a fresh perspective!

Please let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

