Do Something Good

TV stock photo

My heart breaks every time I learn about injustice. I am a deeply empathetic person– it’s just the way I am wired. I can see that people all over the country are experiencing pain and feeling misunderstood. There is a lot of hurt these days, and it seems to keep spreading. As I’ve watched the news this week, I’ve felt moved to make a difference, so I’ve been thinking about what I can do to bring positive change in my community. I’ll have to be creative, since my illness causes me to spend a lot of time at home, but I am determined to bring a bit of light into the darkness we face.

I don’t understand why people think that hostility and hatred will bring change. It won’t bring understanding or grace; all it can bring is more hurt. When I watch the news and listen to the people around me, I don’t think we need any more pain. We need kindness, we need forgiveness, and we need to feel heard. We need to know we’re not alone, even when things get messy. Deep down, we have a lot in common.

I know that injustice, racism, and inequality are complex issues, and I still have a lot of learning to do. In the meantime, I’d like to offer a few ideas for bringing hope into our communities.

  • Focus on listening to others. Instead of spending your time thinking about the “perfect response” during a conversation, listen to the other person. You’ll be surprised what you learn when you take the time to focus on someone else’s need to be heard.
  • Look for volunteer opportunities. If you want to make a difference in your community, you may need to do some groundwork. Most charities and community organizations are stretched pretty thin, so they don’t have a lot of time for recruitment. If you care about people experiencing poverty, look into the food pantries in your area. Consider donating food to them every month or set up a time to talk with the director about helping distribute food. If you want to help children, see if there is a chapter of Big Brothers Big Sisters nearby. You need to add your volunteer work to your schedule so that it becomes a part of your life. Otherwise, it’s easy to put it off.
  • Get to know your neighbors. These days, we often connect online, and we sometimes forget about the people who live next door. It can be a bit awkward to say hello to someone for the first time, but most people will say hello in return. Think about baking some Christmas cookies as a friendly gesture– it’s a great way to break the ice. This time of year can be tough, so think about ways to be kind to the people who live nearby.
  • Collect items for a worthy cause. Hygiene items are in high demand for people with little or no income. Consider collecting toiletries from friends and family to donate to a local charity. Or put together baskets of feminine care products, hair brushes, lotion, hair spray, etc. for a domestic violence shelter. Socks are also a much-needed item at shelters. Ask loved ones to give a pack of new socks with your holiday gift and then bring the collection to local homeless shelter. You can also call specific organizations to see what they need most so that your collection can be especially helpful.

I encourage you to set aside time this week to do something positive for someone else.

Be the change you wish to see in the world. -Gandhi

Please let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

