Thankful Thoughts, Week 3

We just finished up the Thanksgiving season in the US. I had a memorable, wonderful Thanksgiving! I hope you did too. I firmly believe that gratitude is important to practice year-round, and I encourage you to take some time to make a gratitude list of your own. There is no “wrong” way to make a list of what you are thankful for in your life, simply out some paper and start writing.

I’ve made some great memories this week with family members, and I am thankful for the moments that make my life beautiful. Here is my gratitude list:

Rupsis Farkle game 2014

  • My husband’s family made a 4 hour drive to celebrate Thanksgiving with us in Indiana. They came full of joy and energy, ready to help in an way they could. I directed some of the preparation, but other people made the meal. I was able to listen to my body and rest when needed (which is difficult for me, especially when I am hosting people in my home). We played a game of Farkle, ate lots of pie, and had a great time!
  • I saw my nurse practitioner on Friday because I was having terrible pain on my right side. She was able to fit me in quickly and she even stayed late to help me. I am grateful that she believes I know my body best and that she trusts me to be honest. My neck, back, arm and leg alternated between being painful and numb, which had never happened to me before. I was somewhat scared because it was so unrelated to my typical symptoms. My NP found that I have a pinched nerve, likely due to muscle strain in physical therapy. It should heal in the next few days, but right now I am focused on taking pain relief medication and resting. I am glad that I was able to get an answer before the weekend, because it would have been much more difficult to deal with the pain without guidance from my NP.

10805704_10152380366610755_8055679038872681681_n

  • My sister-in-law, her husband, and my nephew came to visit us during their Thanksgiving travels. I adore my nephew, but I haven’t been able to see him much because he lives in Illinois, and I can’t travel that far right now. S and I got him a small gift, and we had so much fun opening it with him! My pain and POTS symptoms were manageable during the visit, and I was tremendously grateful.

In this holiday season, I encourage you to take a moment to reflect on the joy in your life. I recognize that there are troublesome things happening everywhere, but I think the best way to face them is to look for goodness.

I have new ideas that I’ll be bringing to the blog later this week, so stay tuned! And please let me know about the goodness in your life 🙂

2 thoughts on “Thankful Thoughts, Week 3

Please let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

