Beauty in the Ordinary, Thankful Thoughts– Week 2

This past week has been full of beautiful moments. My illness has cooperated with my plans more than usual, so I’ve been able to do more outside of the house. I’ve gotten to spend time with dear friends, and it’s been glorious. Practicing gratitude helps me remember that sacred moments happen as we go through the motions of “normal” living. There are not trumpets that start playing right before a precious memory is formed and there aren’t announcers to let us know that something special is coming. We have to look for those moments ourselves, and the more we look for them, the more beauty we see.

There is a quote I’ve been ruminating over this past week. It’s one of my favorite reminders to look for goodness all around me, even in the ordinary moments.

The ordinary acts we practice every day at home are of more importance to the soul than their simplicity might suggest. -Thomas Moore

Our routines and chores can be looked at a few different ways. They can be seen as necessary tasks that must be completed before “more meaningful” things can be done, or we can look for the goodness in time we spend doing them. We can spend that time being grateful for the house we need to clean and the clothing that needs to be washed. I’ve seen what life can be like for people who are in need of clothing and housing, and it is tough to go without. I am not suggesting guilt-tripping ourselves when we become bored doing a task for the hundredth time, but I am encouraging us all to look for opportunities to be grateful in the little moments. Because there is meaning in folding laundry for family members, in making the bed, and in doing the dishes. And there is beauty in all of the little moments that add together to make a life. We do not need to look for grand, perfect moments because there is so much goodness in the imperfect, small ones.

Here are a few of the things I am thankful for this week. I hope you take the time to reflect on the goodness that can be found in the ordinary parts of life.

  • I went to the annual Christmas parade for my city last night. It was cold, so I bundled up in my transport chair and drank hot chocolate with friends as we watched our neighbors kick off the holiday season. I enjoyed seeing children wave from their floats with smiles on their faces. I looked around and saw dozens of people around me supporting the good things that happen in our city, despite the cold weather, and it was wonderful.

IMG_20141110_210749

  • My husband went out and bought a new cabinet for the upstairs bathroom, and our sweet cat Lily Rose watched him put it together. She spent at least an hour watching his every move and “supervising” him while I laid on the floor because of a POTS flare. Lily Rose has a pretty short attention span, so it was surprising to see her so invested in building a cabinet. The cat was adorable, and even from the floor, I was proud of me kind husband who works hard to make our home even better.

IMG_20141114_133432

  • I have a wonderful friend who has visited me at home when I have not been well enough to go out. This week, we were able to go out to coffee at Starbucks! It was so much fun for both of us. I took a picture of myself (above) before leaving to document the occasion.

Please take some time today to consider the beauty and goodness that can be found in the ordinary parts of your life. There is always something to be grateful for in our lives, even in the tough moments.

2 thoughts on “Beauty in the Ordinary, Thankful Thoughts– Week 2

  1. Sav,
    Thanks for your kind words. The cat in the picture (Lily Rose) is our newest addition to the family. We tried to foster her on a temporary basis, but we fell in love and kept her. She is great for me, especially on difficult days. And my husband is just wonderful!
    Your dreams will come true in God’s timing, like you said. And they are wonderful dreams! I never thought I would find so much joy in the day-to-day moments I spend in our home. Being a “stay at home sick person” has really changed my perspective on the most important things in life. It’s been a huge, but much-needed change.

    Like

Please let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

