Anthem

DecideToBeBrave

 (source)

Sometimes I find a song that becomes my anthem for awhile. Right now my anthem is “I Believe” by Christina Perri (click here for the video). I stumbled across this song a few weeks ago, and I’ve listened to it on repeat every couple days. The lyrics hold so much truth in them, and different lines stick out to me each time I listen to the song.

It’s become increasingly important to me to know my truth, and “I Believe” is a reminder of many of the beliefs I hold dear. (When I say “my truth,” I am referring to simple beliefs that guide the way I live.) Most of the time, I live with joy and gratitude. But I must be honest– there are days that I do not follow my truth. On those days, I tell myself hurtful, untrue things about my purpose and worth. I have fought hard to become the person that I am, but each day I must choose to live my truth. Living with joy and gratitude is a daily decision.

Chronic illness does not change the core of who I am. It certainly affects the way I live my life, but it doesn’t have to take me away from my truth. Here are some of the things that I must remind myself to believe and practice every day:

  • Gratitude enriches my life. I need to take time to be grateful for the things that make my life better.
  • There is always hope.
  • Everyone needs kindness, both from other people and from themselves.
  • Joy and happiness are different. I can always choose joy, even when life is tough.
  • Being brave doesn’t mean that I am unafraid. Brave people choose hope when they’re afraid.
  • Love is stronger than fear.
  • A messy life can be beautiful.
  • I do not have to be perfect to be loved.
  • Every person has worth, no matter what.
  • I must be part of the change I want to see around me.
  • Compassion and empathy empower me to live an abundant life.

I would be excited to hear how your life is affected by the truths that you hold close to you. We all have something to teach to those around us.

One thought on “Anthem

  1. Pingback: Choosing Love | Danielle Choosing Hope

Please let me know what you think. I'd love to hear from you!

